Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on For USDOT-specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Inland Waterways Gateway (St. Louis, MO)

The Inland Waterways Gateway region encompasses all or portions of twenty-three (23) States. The Inland Waterways Gateway Office – St. Louis supports fourteen of those states adjacent to the navigable rivers to include all or a portion of Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Wisconsin, and Washington and Oregon (specific to the Columbia – Snake River System (CSRS) inland from Bonneville Dam) and, for water transportation/maritime supply chain issues; the states of Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming. The region also encompasses the following commercially navigable rivers: the Upper Mississippi River from its’ headwaters in Minnesota to Cairo, IL; the Missouri River; Illinois Waterway; Kaskaskia River; and the CSRS from Idaho to the Bonneville Dam in Oregon.

This region includes over 40 port authorities with 42 river ports, regional waterways, intermodal connections and corridors.

The office is primarily concerned with inland: marine transportation, ports, intermodal connectivity, vessel operations and service providers, and marine security.

The Gateway Director serves as an expert on regional and local maritime issues to include disaster response/recovery, financing for port infrastructure, marine highway development, and support for American shipbuilding companies. In addition to coordinating with the private sector, the Director also serves as the Agency liaison to regional Federal, state and local government agencies.

Last updated: Thursday, September 12, 2019