Official US Government Icon

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

Secure Site Icon

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

The latest information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on For USDOT-specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

The Gallant Ship Award

The Gallant Ship Award is presented by the U.S. Secretary of Transportation to any U.S.-flag or foreign ship “participating in outstanding or gallant action in a marine disaster or other emergency to save life or property at sea”.

The award originates from an executive order issued by President Franklin D. Roosevelt during World War II, which recognizes excellence and bravery in merchant mariners. Between 1942 and 1994 just 41 ships have received the Gallant Ship Award.

Learn about the actions of each individual Gallant Ship below:

Last updated: Monday, March 25, 2019